Skip to main content
Navigating VA

Where Policy, Law, and Data Meet Veteran Advocacy

Independent from the Department of Veterans Affairs

VA Case Law Library

Evidence & Medical Opinions

These cases govern how VA evaluates evidence, medical opinions, examinations, lay statements, credibility, competency, conflicting evidence, and the benefit-of-the-doubt rule.

How Case Law Helps VA Claims
Court decisions explain how statutes, regulations, evidence, medical opinions, and VA procedures must be applied in real claims. They help identify controlling legal standards and errors in VA decisions.
How To Use This Resource
Start by selecting the legal issue that matches the claim or appeal. Then narrow the results by court level or year. Use the case summaries to identify decisions that may help explain the rule controlling the VA issue.
Search Case Law
Filter by Legal Topic
Filter by Court Level

Cases Found: 251

Williams v. Brown — Board must explain rejection of competing PTSD diagnoses and address benefit of the doubt

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court reversed and remanded because the Board gave inadequate reasons or bases for rejecting favorable PTSD diagnoses and failed to address the benefit-of-the-doubt rule. The case underscores that the Board must explain why competing competent medical opinions are less persuasive, especially in PTSD claims.
Summary
The appellant sought service connection for PTSD after the record developed into a classic conflict between multiple VA-oriented mental health opinions. Two examiners concluded that PTSD was not present, while a VA psychologist and a VA therapist diagnosed chronic delayed-onset PTSD and described symptoms and stressor-related manifestations consistent with DSM criteria. The Board denied the claim, but its explanation focused on perceived problems with the veteran’s memory and the fact that some favorable opinions were based in part on the veteran’s history. The Court held that this explanation was inadequate under 38 U.S.C. § 7104(d)(1).

Willis v. Derwinski — Board clearly erroneous in finding schizophrenia first manifested after service

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1991   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court reversed the Board’s finding that schizophrenia was first demonstrated years after service, holding that the only reasonable view of the record was that the veteran’s psychiatric condition was present in service. The decision underscores that the Board cannot rely on speculation, extra-record assumptions, or its own medical judgment to defeat uncontroverted favorable medical evidence.
Summary
The veteran served on active duty in the Air Force from October 1963 to July 1964 and sought service connection for schizophrenia, asserting that the condition began during service and had been misdiagnosed as a personality disorder. The record included a notation of treatment for “DEPRESSION SCHIZOPHRENIA” at Keesler Air Force Base, statements from the veteran and family members describing in-service psychiatric symptoms, and a board-certified VA psychiatrist’s opinion that the veteran’s chronic paranoid schizophrenia originated in service and that the in-service personality-disorder diagnosis was erroneous. The Board initially denied the claim and, after an earlier remand for reasons-or-bases concerns, again denied service connection in a supplemental decision.

The Court held that the Board’s finding that schizophrenia was first medically demonstrated many years after separation was clearly erroneous. It explained that the Board had gone beyond the record by presuming facts about the in-service diagnosis, speculating about what the veteran told the VA psychiatrist, and discounting the psychiatrist’s opinion without a proper evidentiary basis. The Court also emphasized that the Board may not substitute its own medical judgment for independent medical evidence. Because the only permissible conclusion from the record was that the psychiatric condition was present during service, the Court reversed the Board and directed that service connection be granted.

Willis v. Derwinski — Board must address favorable evidence and explain benefit-of-the-doubt analysis

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1990   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court remanded because the Board failed to give reasons or bases for rejecting favorable evidence, including a VA psychiatrist’s opinion suggesting the veteran’s in-service psychiatric symptoms were misdiagnosed, and failed to explain its benefit-of-the-doubt determination.
Summary
The veteran sought service connection for schizophrenia, contending that psychiatric symptoms during service were misdiagnosed as a personality disorder. The record contained post-service diagnoses of chronic paranoid schizophrenia, lay statements supporting in-service onset, and a VA psychiatrist’s opinion that the veteran’s service history credibly reflected hallucinations, impaired sleep, and a likely erroneous personality-disorder diagnosis during active duty. The Board denied the claim, relying heavily on the absence of contemporaneous records and the fact that the discharge was based on unsuitability rather than medical disability.

The Court held that the Board’s decision did not satisfy the statutory reasons-or-bases requirement. It found that the Board failed to meaningfully discuss favorable evidence, especially the VA psychiatrist’s opinion, and effectively dismissed that evidence with the observation that it was not supported by a contemporaneous medical record—despite the VA’s loss of the veteran’s service records and claims file. The Court also held that the Board failed to explain why the benefit-of-the-doubt rule did not apply. Because the Board’s rationale was inadequate and judicial review was hampered, the Court retained jurisdiction and remanded for a new decision consistent with Gilbert.

Practically, the case underscores that the Board must grapple with favorable nexus evidence and cannot substitute missing-record assumptions for actual analysis. It is especially useful where service records are lost, because it reinforces that the absence of contemporaneous documentation does not by itself answer the merits and does not relieve the Board of its duty to explain why favorable evidence is rejected.

Willsey v. Peake — CUE requires an undebatable error, not mere duty-to-assist or evidence-weighing disputes

Court: Federal Circuit   |   Year: 2008   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Federal Circuit held that the 1983 PTSD denial was not CUE because any failure to obtain records was, at most, a duty-to-assist problem, and the RO’s weighing of conflicting PTSD evidence was not an undebatable error.
Summary
Willsey sought an earlier effective date for his PTSD award by attacking a September 1983 RO denial as clear and unmistakable error. The Federal Circuit first held that it had jurisdiction to review whether the Veterans Court applied the correct legal CUE standard from Russell v. Principi. On the merits, the court explained that CUE requires an error that is undebatable, outcome-determinative, and assessed on the record and law existing at the time of the challenged decision.

Applying that framework, the court concluded that the 1983 adjudication was not clearly erroneous. Even if the VA examiner had not reviewed earlier treatment records, the record showed the adjudicator knew of those records and their content, and any failure to obtain them sounded in the duty to assist. The court also rejected the argument that the RO committed CUE by crediting the later VA examination that found PTSD not present. Because the RO could reasonably weigh the evidence as it did, the alleged error was not undebatable. The court therefore affirmed the Veterans Court and left the later effective date intact.

Wilson v. Brown — Board must address favorable evidence when setting an effective date for pension

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court vacated the effective-date portion of a pension decision because the Board failed to address a private chiropractor’s April 1989 statement that the veteran was unemployable. The case also held that 38 U.S.C. § 5110(b)(3)(A) applies only to veterans who meet the statutory prevention-from-filing requirements in subparagraph (B).
Summary
Harold T. Wilson appealed a Board decision that granted a permanent and total disability rating for pension purposes effective May 9, 1989. The issue before the Court was whether an earlier effective date was warranted after Wilson reopened his pension claim in February 1988. The record contained private and VA evidence, including an April 20, 1989 chiropractic statement that Wilson’s spinal condition prevented gainful employment and a later May 9, 1989 VA chemistry profile showing elevated blood sugar levels.

The Court held that the Board did not adequately explain why the April 1989 chiropractic opinion did not establish entitlement earlier than May 9, 1989. Because the Board is required to consider all material evidence and provide reasons or bases for its findings, the failure to address that favorable evidence required vacatur and remand of the effective-date determination. The Court also rejected Wilson’s argument for a retroactive effective date under 38 U.S.C. § 5110(b)(3)(A), explaining that the provision applies only when the claimant satisfies the statute’s prevention-from-filing requirements in subparagraph (B). Finally, the Court declined to consider Wilson’s CUE theory because that issue had not first been adjudicated by the Board.

Practically, Wilson reinforces that effective-date disputes are not resolved by pointing to a later diagnostic finding if earlier evidence may show entitlement arose sooner. VA must discuss favorable evidence that could support an earlier date and cannot stretch the retroactive pension statute beyond its express prerequisites.

Wilson v. Derwinski — Board may reject uncorroborated PTSD stressor accounts absent combat evidence

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1992   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed the denial of service connection for PTSD, holding that the Board could reject uncorroborated stressor allegations and was not required to accept a medical opinion premised on those allegations where the record did not show combat service. The case is an early and important statement on stressor verification and the Board’s fact-finding role in PTSD claims.
Summary
The appellant sought service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, including PTSD, based on alleged Vietnam stressors. The Board denied the claim after finding that the stressors were not corroborated and were inconsistent with service records and ESG information. On appeal, the Court considered whether VA had misapplied the PTSD service-connection regulations by requiring objective confirmation of the stressors and whether a later amendment to M21-1 should control under Karnas.

The Court held that even under the more favorable manual provision, the claimant still needed evidence that he engaged in combat with the enemy. Because the Board found no such evidence, the manual change did not assist him. The Court further held that the Board was not required to accept the veteran’s uncorroborated account merely because a physician diagnosed PTSD based on that history. Citing Wood and Gilbert, the Court emphasized the Board’s duty to weigh credibility and evidence, found the Board’s analysis thorough and plausible, and affirmed the denial.

Wilson v. Derwinski — Board must address credibility and provide reasons or bases; VA must obtain a fully informed medical examination

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1991   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court vacated and remanded a denial of service connection for a low back disorder because the Board failed to give adequate reasons or bases for rejecting lay and medical evidence, and VA breached the duty to assist by relying on an examination that did not address nexus or review the full record.
Summary
The veteran sought service connection for a low back disorder after documented in-service back injuries, post-service treatment, and later VA findings suggesting degenerative spinal pathology. The Board denied the claim as acute and transitory, but the Court held that the Board did not adequately explain its treatment of the veteran’s sworn testimony and other supporting evidence, particularly the evidence of continuity of symptoms after service. The Court emphasized that credibility determinations belong to the Board, not the Court, and that the Board must articulate why it accepts or rejects evidence material to the claim.

The Court also held that VA failed in its duty to assist. The July 1988 VA examinations did not consider the veteran’s full medical history or private records, and no new examination was obtained after those records were submitted. Because the examiners did not address whether the current back disorder was related to the in-service back problems, the record was inadequate for adjudication. The Court vacated the Board decision and remanded for readjudication, a new examination, and proper reasons or bases.

Wilson v. Derwinski — Board must explain rejection of favorable evidence and rating conclusions

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1991   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court remanded because the Board gave only a conclusory explanation for denying a higher psychiatric rating and failed to adequately address favorable medical evidence suggesting total incapacity.
Summary
The appellant sought a rating higher than 50 percent for service-connected panic disorder with anxiety, obsessive thoughts, and secondary major depression. The Board of Veterans' Appeals affirmed the 50 percent evaluation, stating only that the impairment was not more than considerable. On appeal, the Court noted that the Board did not adequately explain why the evidence, including a private physician’s statement that the veteran was totally incapacitated, did not support a higher rating. Relying on Gilbert, the Court held that a bare conclusory statement is insufficient for judicial review and remanded the matter for an adequate statement of reasons or bases. The decision matters because it requires the Board to engage the evidence and explain rating determinations rather than merely announce a conclusion.

Wood v. Derwinski — VA may require corroboration of PTSD stressors; duty to assist is not a one-way street

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1991   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed denial of service connection for PTSD, holding that the Board could require corroboration of claimed in-service stressors and need not accept unsubstantiated opinions or uncorroborated accounts. The decision also states that the duty to assist is not a one-way street, while recognizing VA must tailor assistance to incarcerated veterans.
Summary
Bruce Wood sought service connection for PTSD based on alleged traumatic events in Vietnam. The Board denied the claim because the record did not objectively support the PTSD diagnosis and because there was no independent corroboration of the alleged stressors. The Court affirmed, explaining that service connection requires facts showing the disability was incurred in service and that the Board’s factual findings are reviewed for clear error.

The Court held that the Board had a plausible basis for finding insufficient evidence of service-connected PTSD. It emphasized that the Board was not required to accept the veteran’s uncorroborated account of events or unsupported medical opinions that relied on that account, particularly where there was a substantial time gap between service and the alleged onset of PTSD and the service records did not show an unusually stressful military specialty or duty history. The Court also concluded that VA had adequately assisted the veteran by advising him that corroboration was needed and by making two attempts to obtain supporting records. In a concurrence, Judge Steinberg separately discussed the duty to assist and the possibility of broader assistance obligations in hearing contexts.

Woods v. Principi — Reopened claims must be decided on all evidence, and the Board may not reject medical evidence without an independent medical basis

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1992   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court vacated and remanded because the Board reopened the claim but failed to review the new evidence in light of all the evidence, and it improperly rejected favorable medical opinions without independent medical support.
Summary
The veteran sought service connection for psoriatic arthritis and later attempted to reopen the claim with additional medical opinions linking the condition to service. The Board found the evidence insufficient and rejected the favorable opinions, but the Court held that the Board mishandled the reopened-claim analysis. Under Manio, once the Board determines that new and material evidence has been submitted, it must evaluate the merits of the claim using all of the evidence, both new and old. The Board instead focused only on the new evidence and did not properly reconsider the service medical records alongside the new medical submissions. The Court also held that the Board could not dismiss the favorable medical evidence as contrary to sound medical principles without independent medical evidence supporting that conclusion. Because the Board relied on its own unsupported medical judgment and failed to follow the proper reopened-claim framework, the decision was vacated and remanded.

Yabut v. Brown, former POW presumptive claims require a well-grounded claim; BVA may not rely on undisclosed medical treatises

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court held that former POW presumptive diseases do not require new and material evidence to reopen, but only a well-grounded claim; it vacated and remanded the helminthiasis claim because the Board relied on an undisclosed medical treatise, while affirming the denials of reopening and direct service connection on the remaining issues.
Summary
Rafael C. Yabut, a former prisoner of war, appealed the Board’s denial of several claims, including requests to reopen previously denied claims and new claims for service connection. The Court first distinguished between claims for diseases entitled to POW presumptive service connection under 38 U.S.C. § 1112(b) and claims outside that category. For POW-presumptive diseases such as avitaminosis, malnutrition, and certain psychiatric disorders, the Court held that reopening is not controlled by the new-and-material-evidence standard; the claimant need only submit a well-grounded claim. Because the record contained no plausible evidence supporting those claims, the Court held any Board error in applying the wrong standard was harmless and vacated only to the extent the Board had treated them under the wrong framework.

The Court vacated and remanded the helminthiasis claim, with secondary anemia, because the Board relied on medical treatise evidence to find rebuttal of the POW presumption without providing notice and an opportunity to respond as required by Thurber. The Court also held the Board could not substitute its own medical judgment, and that the Board’s treatise-based rebuttal analysis was not harmless in light of appellant’s prejudice argument. By contrast, the Court affirmed the denial of post-traumatic osteoarthritis because the record contained a medical opinion that the condition was not traumatic in origin, making the Board’s harmless procedural error nonprejudicial. The Court also affirmed the refusal to reopen the shrapnel-wound claim because the post-1984 evidence was cumulative, and affirmed direct service connection denial for anemia because the record plausibly supported the Board’s finding that anemia was not shown in service or within the presumptive period.