Skip to main content
Navigating VA

Where Policy, Law, and Data Meet Veteran Advocacy

Independent from the Department of Veterans Affairs

VA Case Law Library

Evidence & Medical Opinions

These cases govern how VA evaluates evidence, medical opinions, examinations, lay statements, credibility, competency, conflicting evidence, and the benefit-of-the-doubt rule.

How Case Law Helps VA Claims
Court decisions explain how statutes, regulations, evidence, medical opinions, and VA procedures must be applied in real claims. They help identify controlling legal standards and errors in VA decisions.
How To Use This Resource
Start by selecting the legal issue that matches the claim or appeal. Then narrow the results by court level or year. Use the case summaries to identify decisions that may help explain the rule controlling the VA issue.
Search Case Law
Filter by Legal Topic
Filter by Court Level

Cases Found: 251

Brady v. Brown — Same symptomatology cannot be compensated twice under separate diagnoses

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court held that service connection for additional physical diagnoses was not warranted where the Board found the symptoms were part of a single psychiatric disability, because rating both would constitute prohibited pyramiding. The Court also found any possible evidentiary error nonprejudicial and declined to reach unripe duty-to-assist arguments.
Summary
The veteran, a former Merchant Marine seaman, sought service connection for headaches with dizziness and a gastrointestinal disorder after the Board granted service connection for a psychiatric disorder diagnosed as somatoform in nature. The Board concluded that the headaches, dizziness, and diarrhea were somatic manifestations of the psychiatric condition rather than separate organic disabilities. On appeal, the Court held that awarding service connection for the physical symptom claims in addition to the psychiatric disability would amount to impermissible pyramiding under 38 C.F.R. § 4.14 and the psychophysiological rating rule then found in 38 C.F.R. § 4.132. The Court also noted that, even if the Board had improperly discounted one physician’s opinion, any such error was not prejudicial because the record contained another medical basis supporting the Board’s conclusion. The Court affirmed and declined to consider unripe duty-to-assist arguments because no rating decision had yet been issued.

Browder v. Brown — Board must explain aggravation analysis and may not reject prescribed visual acuity testing categorically

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court vacated and remanded because the Board failed to apply the aggravation framework required by Hensley and gave inadequate reasons or bases for rejecting evidence of worsening and for treating astigmatism as a preexisting developmental defect.
Summary
The appellant sought service connection for a right eye disability, arguing that a preexisting eye condition was worsened by service. The Court had previously held in Browder I that the record showed worsening of right-eye vision during service and remanded for application of the presumption of aggravation. On the later appeal, the Board again denied the claim, relying on the stability of corrected visual acuity and expressing skepticism about the Snellen test. The Court held that the Board had not complied with the required aggravation analysis because it failed to explain the criteria used to determine whether there had been an increase in disability and, if so, whether the presumption of aggravation was rebutted by clear and unmistakable evidence. The Court also held that the Board could not categorically reject the Snellen test results, which VA regulations used to measure visual acuity, absent a persuasive factual basis in the individual case. In addition, the Court found inadequate reasons or bases for the Board’s treatment of myopic astigmatism as a preexisting developmental defect and required the Board to address the presumption of soundness and whether clear and unmistakable evidence showed preexistence. The decision matters because it tightens the Board’s obligation to articulate aggravation reasoning and to ground medical-characterization findings in adequate explanation rather than conclusory assertions.

Brown v. Derwinski — Pension claims must be analyzed under both the unemployability and average-person standards, with adequate reasons or bases

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1992   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court vacated and remanded a pension denial because the Board failed to apply the correct permanent-and-total-disability standards, did not give adequate reasons or bases, and ignored relevant SSA unemployability evidence.
Summary
Clem Brown appealed the Board’s denial of a permanent and total disability rating for nonservice-connected pension purposes. The Court explained that pension eligibility under 38 U.S.C. §§ 1502 and 1521 requires consideration of both the subjective unemployability standard and the objective “average person” standard. It found that the Board did not clearly identify which standard it applied, failed to consider all of the veteran’s disabilities in combination, and did not address whether the veteran met the average-person test.

The Court also held that the Board’s statement of reasons or bases was inadequate under 38 U.S.C. § 7104(d)(1). In addition, because the record did not clearly identify the percentage attributable to each disability, the Court directed that a new examination and updated rating decision were needed. Finally, the Court held that the Board had to consider the SSA’s unemployability determination and explain the weight assigned to that evidence. The decision was vacated and remanded for readjudication consistent with those requirements.

Buchanan v. Nicholson — Lay evidence cannot be rejected solely for lack of contemporaneous medical records

Court: Federal Circuit   |   Year: 2006   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Federal Circuit held that the Board may not determine that lay evidence lacks credibility merely because it is unaccompanied by contemporaneous medical documentation. The decision clarified that competent lay testimony may be sufficient to establish symptoms or events even when service or medical records are silent.
Summary
The veteran sought service connection for psychiatric disability and presented lay testimony regarding continuity of symptoms since service. The Board rejected the lay evidence largely because the record lacked contemporaneous medical documentation supporting the reported symptoms during the relevant period.

The Federal Circuit held that the Board committed legal error by treating the absence of contemporaneous medical records as an automatic basis for rejecting lay evidence. The court explained that while the lack of medical documentation may be weighed as one factor affecting credibility, it cannot serve as the sole basis for finding lay evidence not credible.

The court emphasized that competent lay evidence can establish observable symptoms and continuity, particularly where the testimony concerns matters within ordinary personal observation. The decision reinforced that veterans-law adjudication does not require medical corroboration in every circumstance and that lay evidence must receive proper evidentiary consideration.

Buchanan became one of the foundational modern lay-evidence cases in veterans law and is frequently cited in service-connection disputes involving symptom continuity and credibility determinations.

Bucklinger v. Brown — Board’s unsupported finding that tinnitus was caused by disease rather than acoustic trauma was clearly erroneous

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court reversed the Board’s denial of a compensable tinnitus rating because the Board lacked a plausible evidentiary basis for finding the tinnitus was due to disease rather than acoustic trauma and improperly relied on its own medical judgment.
Summary
The veteran sought a compensable rating for service-connected tinnitus. The Board denied the claim by concluding that the tinnitus was related to disease, specifically otitis externa, rather than acoustic trauma, and therefore did not satisfy the rating schedule’s criteria for a compensable evaluation. On appeal, the Court reviewed the evidentiary basis for that factual finding and the Board’s reasons or bases.

The Court held that there was no plausible basis in the record for the Board’s conclusion. The contemporaneous service records did not show that otitis externa caused tinnitus, and the Board’s statement that otitis externa is a disease that causes tinnitus was an unsupported medical inference. By contrast, the record included sworn testimony of in-service noise exposure and a VA audiological opinion indicating that the tinnitus was consistent with a history of noise exposure. Because the Board’s contrary finding lacked evidentiary support, the Court set it aside as clearly erroneous.

The Court reversed rather than remanding because no plausible basis existed for the Board to reach the same conclusion on remand. The Court did not decide the veteran’s constitutional challenge to the tinnitus rating regulation, resolving the appeal on the nonconstitutional ground that the Board’s factual finding could not stand. The practical effect was reversal and remand for assignment of a compensable rating under the tinnitus diagnostic code.

Buczynski v. Shinseki — Board may not treat silence in the record as negative evidence; reasons or bases required

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 2011   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court held that the Board improperly treated the absence of medical evidence as substantive negative evidence without establishing that the condition or symptom would ordinarily have been recorded. Buczynski is an important evidentiary case limiting VA’s ability to rely on silence in medical records as proof against a veteran’s claim.
Summary
In Buczynski v. Shinseki, the Court reviewed a Board decision denying a higher disability rating for a skin condition. The veteran argued that the Board improperly relied on the absence of evidence in medical records to conclude that his skin disorder was not “exceptionally repugnant” under the applicable diagnostic criteria.

The Court agreed that the Board’s analysis was flawed. The Board had inferred that because treatment records did not describe the veteran’s condition as exceptionally repugnant, the condition therefore lacked that level of severity. The Court explained that silence in medical records cannot automatically be treated as substantive negative evidence unless there is a proper evidentiary foundation establishing that the fact in question ordinarily would have been recorded.

The Court emphasized that there was no medical reason to expect physicians to routinely comment on whether a skin condition was “exceptionally repugnant” for VA rating purposes. Because the Board failed to establish why the absence of such commentary was meaningful, it improperly relied on silence in the records as evidence against the claim.

The decision clarified an important evidentiary principle in veterans law: absence of evidence is not necessarily negative evidence. The Court distinguished situations where a missing notation may have probative value from situations where the medical record would not ordinarily contain the disputed information.

The Court ultimately remanded the matter for readjudication with proper evidentiary analysis.

Budnik v. Derwinski — New and material evidence requires reopening and merits review

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1992   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court held that lay statements and a doctor’s firsthand post-service observation/opinion were new and material evidence, requiring reopening of the previously denied service-connection claim. The Board also had to provide reasons or bases for rejecting favorable medical evidence and could not rely on its own medical judgment.
Summary
Andrew Budnik sought service connection for bossing of the bone over his left forehead, alleging that it resulted from a blow to the head during enemy bombardment in service. The Board had previously denied the claim in 1972, finding no in-service documentation and first post-service documentation in 1966. In support of reopening, Budnik submitted six lay statements from fellow servicemen and a letter from Dr. Harold D. Stephens. Dr. Stephens stated that he first knew Budnik in 1946, observed a slightly enlarged bony prominence over the left eyebrow, and believed it was reasonable that the condition had resulted from the in-service injury and progressed over time. The Board acknowledged the evidence was new but concluded it did not establish a new factual basis for service connection.

The Court applied the two-step reopening framework from Manio and reviewed the new-and-material determination de novo. It held that Dr. Stephens’ statement was new and material because he was both a percipient witness close in time to service and a medical doctor, and his opinion was significant enough that it had to be considered to fairly decide the merits. Because the Board appeared to have considered only the new evidence rather than reopening and reviewing the claim on the full record, remand was required. The Court also stated that the Board provided no reasons or bases for rejecting Dr. Stephens’ medical opinion and could not substitute its own unsubstantiated medical conclusions. The Court rejected the separate duty-to-assist argument because the record showed the VA facility reported no records existed.

Bufkin v. McDonough — Veterans Court need not conduct de novo review of the benefit-of-the-doubt rule

Court: Federal Circuit   |   Year: 2023   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Federal Circuit held that the Veterans Court properly reviewed the Board’s benefit-of-the-doubt determination for clear error and was not required to conduct a de novo or sua sponte review of the entire record. The case clarifies the limited scope of § 7261(b)(1) and reinforces that the rule applies only when the Board is not persuaded by the evidence.
Summary
Joshua Bufkin sought service connection for an acquired psychiatric disorder, including PTSD. The record contained conflicting medical opinions: an early treating psychiatrist suggested he met the criteria for PTSD, while later VA examiners concluded that his symptoms did not meet the diagnostic criteria. The Board ultimately found the negative evidence more persuasive and denied service connection. On appeal, the Veterans Court affirmed, and Bufkin argued to the Federal Circuit that the Veterans Court misread 38 U.S.C. § 7261(b)(1) by treating the Board’s application of the benefit-of-the-doubt rule as the focus of review rather than the Secretary’s broader application of that rule throughout the claims process, and by failing to conduct de novo review of how the rule was applied.

Burger v. Brown — Service connection requires current disability (PTSD); POW and § 1154(b) do not eliminate that requirement

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed the Board’s denial of service connection for PTSD and frostbite residuals, holding that the Board’s finding that PTSD was not shown was not clearly erroneous and that the veteran failed to demonstrate a present disability from frozen feet. It also held that VA had no duty-to-assist error because the psychiatric evidence did not establish a current psychiatric disability.
Summary
The appellant, a former POW, sought service connection for PTSD and residuals of frostbite or trench foot. The Board had weighed competing psychiatric evidence, including outpatient group therapy impressions of PTSD and more detailed VA examinations that found no significant nervous or emotional problems and no current PTSD diagnosis. The Court held that the Board adequately explained why it credited the more detailed examinations and that its finding that PTSD was not present was not clearly erroneous.

As to the cold injury claim, the Court emphasized that service connection requires a current disability. Although the veteran and a fellow POW described harsh confinement conditions and foot problems during service, the record did not show a presently existing disability attributable to frostbite. The Court also discussed the POW and combat-related evidentiary provisions, but concluded that the Secretary had rebutted the claim by clear and convincing evidence because the record failed to show a current disabling residual. Finally, the Court rejected the argument that VA should have ordered further development for a psychiatric-gastrointestinal relationship, explaining that the 1989 psychiatric examination did not establish a psychiatric disability and therefore no duty-to-assist error occurred. The Board’s decision was affirmed.

Burton v. Shinseki — § 4.59 applies beyond arthritis and may require a minimum compensable rating for actually painful joints

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 2011   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
In Burton v. Shinseki, the Court held that 38 C.F.R. § 4.59 is not limited to arthritis claims and applies broadly to painful joint motion. The decision clarified that VA must consider painful motion when evaluating musculoskeletal disabilities even when arthritis is not shown on imaging studies. The Court remanded the case because the Board failed to adequately address whether the veteran was entitled to a compensable rating based on painful motion under § 4.59.
Summary
The case held that 38 C.F.R. § 4.59 is not limited to arthritis claims and requires consideration of painful motion when rating joints. In Burton v. Shinseki, the Court clarified that 38 C.F.R. § 4.59, the regulation addressing painful motion, is not limited solely to arthritis claims. The veteran sought higher disability ratings for residuals of a left shoulder injury with surgical repair, arguing that VA failed to properly account for painful motion and functional impairment associated with his shoulder condition.

The Board denied a compensable rating for part of the appeal period, relying heavily on examination findings describing full range of motion and minimal objective impairment. However, the record also contained evidence showing painful motion, including medical observations that the veteran demonstrated pain while moving the shoulder and diagnoses specifically documenting shoulder pain.

The Secretary initially argued that § 4.59 applied only to arthritis-related claims. The Court rejected that restrictive interpretation and held that § 4.59 applies more broadly to painful joints and periarticular pathology, including healed injuries and non-arthritic joint disabilities. The Court explained that the regulation’s purpose is to recognize actually painful joints as productive of disability and potentially entitled to at least the minimum compensable evaluation.

The Court further found that the Board failed to adequately discuss favorable evidence of painful motion and relied on an examination report that merely recorded range of motion measurements without sufficiently addressing functional loss caused by pain. The Court held that the Board’s reasons or bases were inadequate and remanded the matter for further adjudication.

Burton became an important painful-motion and functional-loss case because it clarified that § 4.59 extends beyond arthritis and applies whenever joint pain and painful motion are reasonably raised by the record.

Butts v. Brown — Board must address favorable evidence and use an appropriate diagnostic code supported by the record

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed most of the Board’s denials, but remanded left-ear hearing loss, the perianal abscess rating, tinnitus, and otitis externa because the Board failed to discuss favorable evidence, ignored a reasonably raised claim, and improperly rated tinnitus under a rhinitis code without evidentiary support. Butts also clarifies that diagnostic-code selection is reviewed deferentially and may be set aside when arbitrary and capricious.
Summary
Chester L. Butts appealed a Board decision that denied several service-connection claims and multiple compensable ratings. The Court affirmed the denials for the right index finger, pseudofolliculitis barbae, bilateral foot disorder, lumbosacral strain, rhinitis, and the Board’s disposition of the 38 C.F.R. § 3.324 claim. However, the Court vacated and remanded the left-ear hearing-loss claim because the Board failed to discuss favorable evidence, including inconclusive audiology results and a physician’s statement suggesting mild high-frequency neurosensory hearing loss. The Court also remanded the perianal abscess rating because the Board did not discuss evidence of treatment and testimony describing ongoing symptoms, and it remanded tinnitus because the Board and RO rated it under the rhinitis diagnostic code without evidence of a causal connection between rhinitis and tinnitus. The Court further held that the record reasonably raised a claim for otitis externa that VA had not adjudicated, triggering the duty to assist. In reaching the tinnitus issue, the Court clarified that selection of a diagnostic code is reviewed under the arbitrary-and-capricious standard, not as a pure question of law, and that the Board must explain its diagnostic-code choice when the rationale is not apparent from the record.

Caldwell v. Derwinski — Board clearly erred in finding no psychosis within one year of separation

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1991   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court reversed because the Board clearly erred in finding that schizophrenia was not manifested within one year after separation. Where the record uniformly supported early psychotic symptoms and the Board offered only unsupported speculation, reversal was required.
Summary
The appellant sought service connection for paranoid schizophrenia based on the chronic-disease presumption in 38 U.S.C. § 1112. He had served more than 90 days during wartime, and the question was whether the disorder was manifested to a compensable degree within one year after separation. Although the service records did not contain a diagnosis, the post-service record included consistent statements from family members describing atypical behavior beginning shortly after discharge, multiple hospital records repeating that history, and a private forensic psychiatrist’s opinion that schizophrenia was probably first manifested in service and definitely present within one year after separation. The Board denied the claim, reasoning that the behavior was not necessarily psychotic and that the first diagnosis came too late.

The Court held that the Board’s finding was clearly erroneous. It emphasized that service connection under the presumption may be established by competent lay evidence and medical evidence, and that a diagnosis need not occur within the presumptive period so long as characteristic manifestations are shown and followed by a diagnosis without unreasonable delay. The Court concluded the Board had no plausible evidentiary basis for rejecting the unanimous evidence and had improperly substituted its own medical judgment for the medical record. The Court reversed and remanded for assignment of the proper rating for schizophrenia.

Caluza v. Brown — Combat lay evidence, well-grounded claims, and § 1154(b)

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1995   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court established the foundational three-element framework for a well-grounded service-connection claim: (1) competent evidence of a current disability, (2) evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of disease or injury, and (3) competent evidence of a nexus between service and the current disability. The Court also clarified major evidentiary principles governing credibility, combat presumptions under 38 U.S.C. § 1154(b), and the Board’s reasons-and-bases obligations.
Summary
The veteran sought service connection for residuals of a shell fragment wound to the right leg allegedly sustained during combat service in World War II. The Board denied the claim after finding the veteran’s later statements and supporting affidavits not credible when compared against earlier contemporaneous evidence, including a 1947 affidavit in which the veteran denied having sustained wounds during service.

The Court issued one of the most influential evidentiary decisions in veterans law. First, it formally articulated the three evidentiary elements required to establish a well-grounded service-connection claim:

1. Competent evidence of a current disability;
2. Evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation; and
3. Competent evidence of a nexus between service and the current disability.

The Court also conducted an extensive analysis of 38 U.S.C. § 1154(b), explaining how combat veterans may establish in-service events through satisfactory lay evidence even in the absence of official documentation. The Court clarified that “satisfactory” evidence under § 1154(b) means “credible” evidence and discussed how credibility determinations may consider factors such as internal consistency, facial plausibility, inconsistent statements, bias, and contradiction by contemporaneous evidence.

Additionally, the Court reinforced the Board’s duty to provide adequate reasons and bases under 38 U.S.C. § 7104(d)(1), including analysis of credibility, probative value, and favorable evidence. The decision also discussed the duty to assist and harmless-error analysis.

Although the Court ultimately affirmed the Board’s denial, Caluza became one of the foundational cases governing lay evidence, credibility determinations, combat presumptions, and service-connection analysis.

Cartright v. Derwinski — Lay testimony must be weighed; Board must give adequate reasons or bases

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1991   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court held that the Board erred by indiscriminately rejecting material lay evidence and by failing to provide adequate reasons or bases for rejecting the veteran's testimony and denying the benefit of the doubt.
Summary
The veteran sought to reopen and establish service connection for asthma. In support of the claim, he submitted lay testimony from himself and another witness describing respiratory symptoms and continuity of asthma after service, along with some medical records. The Board denied the claim, stating in substance that the veteran's assertion of continuous treatment was insufficient because the condition had not been clinically documented. The Court rejected that approach, explaining that VA regulations do not require service connection to be proven solely through medical records. The Court emphasized that interested-party status does not make a witness incompetent; instead, lay evidence must be weighed for credibility and probative value. The Court further held that the Board failed to provide an adequate statement of reasons or bases because it did not explain why the testimony was not credible or why the evidence was not at least in relative equipoise under the benefit-of-the-doubt rule. The decision was reversed and remanded for the Board to properly evaluate the evidence and explain its findings.

Catalig v. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. ___ (1992) — Board’s scar rating decision was plausible and supported by reasons or bases

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1992   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed the Board’s denial of compensable ratings for shell fragment wound scars, holding that the Board’s factual finding was plausible, its reasons or bases were adequate, and the benefit-of-the-doubt rule was not violated.
Summary
The appellant sought compensable ratings for residuals of shell fragment wounds to the face and left ankle. The record contained VA examinations describing healed, nontender, nonadherent scars with no limitation of motion and no fracture or bony damage, while private physicians described numbness, neuritis, arthritis, pain, and difficulty walking. The Board weighed the evidence and found that the more recent private symptoms could not reasonably be attributed to the service-connected scar residuals given the essentially asymptomatic findings on VA examinations.

On appeal, the Court reiterated that Board factual findings are reviewed under the clearly erroneous standard and that rating determinations are factual. The Court held that there was a plausible basis in the record for the Board’s conclusion that the scars did not warrant an increased rating under Diagnostic Code 7804, which requires superficial scars to be tender and painful on objective demonstration. The Court also concluded that the Board satisfied the reasons-or-bases requirement and did not violate the benefit-of-the-doubt doctrine. The Board’s decision was therefore affirmed.

Chisem v. Brown: New and material evidence established service connection; Board may not substitute its own medical judgment

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court held that the veteran submitted new and material evidence, the Board clearly erred in rejecting unrebutted medical opinions linking the psychiatric disorder to service, and service connection was warranted. The Court also held that the Board had to adjudicate reasonably raised claims of clear and unmistakable error and obvious error.
Summary
Aldosie Chisem sought service connection for a psychiatric disorder after multiple prior denials dating back to 1953. The Court reviewed service records describing psychoneurosis, anxiety state, and mental deficiency, together with later private medical opinions that linked his psychiatric symptoms to service and challenged the in-service diagnosis as a misdiagnosis influenced by prejudice and poor education. The Board had concluded that the post-1953 evidence was new but not material and denied reopening. The Court held that the Board failed to apply the required two-step new-and-material-evidence analysis, failed to consider all favorable medical and lay evidence, and gave inadequate reasons or bases. On de novo review, the Court found the evidence new and material and then concluded that the full record left no plausible basis for the Board’s contrary finding. The Court reversed and directed the Secretary to grant service connection for the psychiatric disorder. The Court also held that the Board had to adjudicate reasonably raised claims of clear and unmistakable error and obvious error, but it declined to assign the earlier effective date requested because those issues had not yet been adjudicated by the Board.

Clarkson v. Brown — Well-grounded claim requirement and remand for SSA records, reasons or bases, and TDIU consideration

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1993   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed the denial of service connection for brain damage because the veteran presented no evidence beyond his own unsupported fears, but remanded the PTSD rating claim for SSA record development, reasons-or-bases compliance, and consideration of TDIU and incarceration-related compensation reduction issues.
Summary
Robert B. Clarkson appealed a Board decision that denied an increased rating for PTSD and service connection for brain damage. The Court held that the brain-damage claim was not well grounded because the only support was the veteran’s unsubstantiated fear that fever treatment in Vietnam caused brain damage, so the VA had no duty to assist by ordering additional testing. The Court also granted the Secretary’s motion to remand the PTSD issue because the veteran had indicated receipt of Social Security benefits and relevant SSA records had not been obtained. On remand, the Board was instructed to secure those records, provide adequate reasons or bases for its rating conclusions, address the veteran’s claim for a total rating based on individual unemployability under 38 C.F.R. § 4.16(c), and consider the veteran’s allegation that his compensation had been reduced during incarceration. The decision is important because it combines the pre-VCAA well-grounded-claim threshold with multiple recurring Board obligations: record development, reasons or bases, and attention to issues reasonably raised by the record or the veteran.

Coburn v. Nicholson — inadequate reasons or bases for rejecting the only nexus opinion

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 2006   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court held that the Board may reject a medical opinion if it is based on facts found to be inaccurate or contradicted by the record, but the Board may not reject a medical opinion solely because it relies on a veteran’s lay history unless the Board first properly determines that the lay statements themselves lack credibility.
Summary
The veteran sought service connection for a back disability allegedly related to an in-service injury. A favorable medical nexus opinion linked the current disability to service based largely on the veteran’s description of his injury history and symptom progression.

The Board rejected the medical opinion because it relied on the veteran’s self-reported history, which the Board believed was unsupported by contemporaneous medical documentation. The Court found that approach legally flawed.

The Court clarified that reliance on lay history does not automatically render a medical opinion incompetent or lacking probative value. Instead, the critical issue is whether the Board properly determines that the underlying lay statements are not credible. If the Board finds the veteran’s account not credible and adequately explains that finding, it may discount medical opinions relying on that history. However, absent a proper credibility determination, the Board cannot reject a medical opinion merely because it incorporates lay reports.

The Court also discussed the interplay between credibility analysis, evidentiary weighing, and medical nexus opinions. The decision reinforced that the Board must provide adequate reasons and bases explaining why it accepts or rejects both lay evidence and medical evidence.

Colantonio v. Shinseki — Lay evidence may satisfy the low threshold for a VA medical examination under 38 U.S.C. § 5103A(d)(2)(B)

Court: Federal Circuit   |   Year: 2010   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Federal Circuit held that the Veterans Court may have applied an overly strict nexus standard when assessing VA’s duty to provide a medical examination. Lay testimony is not always required to be medically competent to satisfy the low threshold of 38 U.S.C. § 5103A(d)(2)(B), and the case was vacated and remanded for reconsideration under the proper standard.
Summary
The veteran sought service-connected compensation for a back disability and argued that VA should have provided a medical examination under 38 U.S.C. § 5103A(d)(2). The Veterans Court had affirmed the denial of service connection, reasoning that his lay testimony could not supply the necessary medical nexus and that the examination error was harmless. The Federal Circuit vacated and remanded, explaining that it had recently interpreted the statute in Waters v. Shinseki to mean that subparagraph (B) imposes a low evidentiary threshold and does not always require medically competent evidence to indicate that a disability may be associated with service. Because the Veterans Court may have applied a rule requiring medical nexus evidence in every case, the Federal Circuit remanded for reconsideration of the harmless-error analysis under the correct interpretation.

Collier v. Derwinski — BVA must consider relevant evidence and reasons-or-bases in pension unemployability determinations

Court: CAVC   |   Year: 1991   |   Read Full Case Breakdown →

Key Takeaway
The Court vacated and remanded a pension denial because the Board failed to consider relevant medical and Social Security evidence bearing on unemployability and did not adequately explain its rejection of that evidence.
Summary
The appellant sought non-service-connected pension benefits, asserting that back and gastrointestinal disabilities rendered him unemployable. The record included a treating orthopedist’s opinion that he was unable to work, treatment records describing marked limitation of motion, and a Social Security Administrative Law Judge decision finding him disabled and noting a marginal education. The Board denied pension, concluding that the veteran was not permanently and totally disabled and that his disabilities did not preclude gainful employment consistent with age, education, and occupational experience.

The Court held that the Board could not ignore or disregard relevant evidence in the record. It emphasized that the Board had not meaningfully discussed the relevant regulations governing pension unemployability or explained why it rejected the favorable medical evidence and the Social Security disability decision. The Court explained that while Social Security and VA disability standards differ, the Social Security award was still evidence that could not be ignored, and any disagreement with its conclusions required reasons or bases. The Court therefore vacated and remanded for readjudication consistent with those requirements.