Presumptions & Special Statuses
These cases address statutory and regulatory presumptions, special claimant statuses, exposure presumptions, combat presumptions, chronic disease rules, and other special evidentiary frameworks.
How Case Law Helps VA Claims
Court decisions explain how statutes, regulations, evidence, medical opinions, and VA procedures must be applied in real claims. They help identify controlling legal standards and errors in VA decisions.
How To Use This Resource
Start by selecting the legal issue that matches the claim or appeal. Then narrow the results by court level or year. Use the case summaries to identify decisions that may help explain the rule controlling the VA issue.
Cases Found: 12
Court: CAVC | Year: 1991 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court reversed the Board’s finding that the veteran’s in-service epigastric complaints were not a chronic stomach disorder, holding that the Board clearly erred in light of the in-service diagnosis of quiescent duodenal ulcer and the Secretary’s regulation treating duodenal ulcer as a chronic disease.
Summary
The veteran appealed a Board decision denying service connection for peptic ulcer disease. The Court noted that the veteran entered service without a preexisting stomach disorder, developed extensive stomach complaints during service, and was discharged with a diagnosis of quiescent duodenal ulcer with recurrent hyperacidity and acid dyspepsia. The Court declined to take judicial notice that a duodenal ulcer is always chronic as a medical proposition, but it did take judicial notice of 38 C.F.R. § 3.309(a), which treats duodenal ulcers as chronic diseases for VA purposes. Because the Board itself credited evidence of a duodenal ulcer in service, the Court held that the Board’s finding that the in-service epigastric complaints did not represent a chronic stomach disorder was clearly erroneous. The Court reversed and remanded with instructions to grant service connection and assign the proper disability rating.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1995 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court established the foundational three-element framework for a well-grounded service-connection claim: (1) competent evidence of a current disability, (2) evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of disease or injury, and (3) competent evidence of a nexus between service and the current disability. The Court also clarified major evidentiary principles governing credibility, combat presumptions under 38 U.S.C. § 1154(b), and the Board’s reasons-and-bases obligations.
Summary
The veteran sought service connection for residuals of a shell fragment wound to the right leg allegedly sustained during combat service in World War II. The Board denied the claim after finding the veteran’s later statements and supporting affidavits not credible when compared against earlier contemporaneous evidence, including a 1947 affidavit in which the veteran denied having sustained wounds during service.
The Court issued one of the most influential evidentiary decisions in veterans law. First, it formally articulated the three evidentiary elements required to establish a well-grounded service-connection claim:
1. Competent evidence of a current disability;
2. Evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation; and
3. Competent evidence of a nexus between service and the current disability.
The Court also conducted an extensive analysis of 38 U.S.C. § 1154(b), explaining how combat veterans may establish in-service events through satisfactory lay evidence even in the absence of official documentation. The Court clarified that “satisfactory” evidence under § 1154(b) means “credible” evidence and discussed how credibility determinations may consider factors such as internal consistency, facial plausibility, inconsistent statements, bias, and contradiction by contemporaneous evidence.
Additionally, the Court reinforced the Board’s duty to provide adequate reasons and bases under 38 U.S.C. § 7104(d)(1), including analysis of credibility, probative value, and favorable evidence. The decision also discussed the duty to assist and harmless-error analysis.
Although the Court ultimately affirmed the Board’s denial, Caluza became one of the foundational cases governing lay evidence, credibility determinations, combat presumptions, and service-connection analysis.
Court: Federal Circuit | Year: 2017 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Federal Circuit vacated and remanded because the Board and Veterans Court failed to properly grapple with conflicting Coast Guard line-of-duty/willful-misconduct findings and instead made their own findings. The case underscores that service department determinations under 38 C.F.R. § 3.1(m)–(n) must be addressed and cannot be ignored.
Summary
Melvin Crediford sought service connection for cervical spine disability arising from a 1985 automobile accident. The record contained an April 1985 Coast Guard investigation and convening authority action finding that his injuries were not the result of his own misconduct and were incurred in the line of duty, but a later December 1985 memorandum referenced a contrary finding. VA denied the claim on the theory that the accident resulted from willful misconduct, and the Veterans Court affirmed.
The Federal Circuit focused on the governing regulations for line-of-duty and willful-misconduct determinations, 38 C.F.R. § 3.1(m)–(n). The court held that when service department findings are in the record, VA must address them under the binding-effect rules rather than simply make its own independent finding on misconduct. Because the Board did not reconcile the conflicting Coast Guard determinations and effectively substituted its own factfinding, the Federal Circuit vacated and remanded for further proceedings. The court also noted the appellant’s argument that the Board and Veterans Court had effectively created a per se intoxication-based misconduct rule, but its central holding was the failure to apply the service-department-binding framework.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1993 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court granted the Secretary’s motion for reconsideration, vacated its earlier opinion, and replaced it with a new opinion issued the same day.
Summary
This is a per curiam order on the Secretary’s motion for reconsideration. The Court explained that it had previously issued an opinion on January 14, 1993 reversing and remanding the Board’s March 1, 1991 decision. The Secretary argued that the Court had erred in applying 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.307(a)(3) and 3.309(a) to suggest presumptive service connection could be established for polycythemia rubra vera. The Court granted reconsideration, denied the stay request, denied en banc review as moot, vacated the January 14, 1993 opinion, and replaced it with the opinion filed on April 15, 1993.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1992 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed the Board’s denial of service connection for lung cancer, holding that the record provided a plausible basis for finding no causal link to radiation or DDT exposure and that the Board’s reasons and bases and benefit-of-the-doubt analysis were adequate.
Summary
The veteran served in Nagasaki after the atomic bombing and later developed right lung carcinoma. He sought service connection on theories of radiation exposure and exposure to DDT used in decontaminating prisoners of war. The Board denied the claim, relying on dose information from military sources, the lack of a veteran-submitted dose estimate, the regulatory framework governing radiogenic diseases, and the absence of clinical evidence supporting a chemical-exposure theory. The Board also considered other carcinogenic factors, including the veteran’s heavy smoking history.
On appeal, the Court reviewed the Board’s causation finding under the clearly erroneous standard and held that the record supplied a plausible basis for the Board’s conclusion that the cancer was not caused by radiation or toxic chemicals. The Court further held that the Board satisfied the statutory reasons-or-bases requirement and properly applied the benefit-of-the-doubt doctrine. The decision is useful for showing the limited scope of appellate review where the Board has a record-supported factual basis and has addressed the claimant’s main theories of entitlement.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1992 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed denial of service connection for lymphoma because the veteran failed to submit a well-grounded claim; without evidence of symptomatology within the presumptive period, 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(c) did not apply and VA had no duty to obtain further medical opinion.
Summary
The appellant served on active duty from 1945 to 1949 and later developed lymphoma after a diagnosis in 1989. He argued that the disease was caused by radiation exposure during service and that his claim was well grounded because a physician suggested the condition may have existed up to ten years before diagnosis. The Court rejected that argument, explaining that 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(c) requires evidence of symptomatology within the presumptive period, not merely a later diagnosis or speculative onset estimate. Because the record showed that the appellant’s first symptoms appeared only a few months before diagnosis, he had not presented a well-grounded claim. The Court also noted that he submitted no evidence supporting direct service connection. The Board’s denial was therefore affirmed.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1993 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court upheld the statutory and regulatory bar on pension payments to incarcerated veterans, holding that the restriction satisfies rational-basis review and is neither a bill of attainder nor an ex post facto law.
Summary
The veteran appealed a Board decision denying payment of improved pension benefits because he had been incarcerated since 1982. The Court reviewed 38 U.S.C. § 1505(a) and 38 C.F.R. § 3.666, which discontinue pension after the 61st day of imprisonment, and rejected the veteran’s constitutional challenges under due process, equal protection, the bill of attainder clause, and the ex post facto clause. Applying rational-basis review, the Court held that prisoners are not a suspect class and that pension benefits are not a fundamental right requiring heightened scrutiny. It concluded that the restrictions reasonably further legitimate governmental interests, including preventing duplication of subsistence payments and reducing contraband purchases within prisons.
The Court also held that the statute and regulation are not bills of attainder or ex post facto laws. The provisions do not impose punishment, but instead suspend a noncontractual benefit for nonpunitive legislative reasons, and they allow apportionment to dependents and resumption of payment upon release. The Board’s denial of pension benefits was therefore affirmed.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1993 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court held that presumptive service connection for chronic disease under § 1112(a) requires 90 days of continuous active service, so separate service periods totaling 93 days did not qualify.
Summary
Louis Lorenzano, a Merchant Marine veteran, sought service connection for pulmonary tuberculosis diagnosed shortly after service. The Board denied the claim, finding that tuberculosis was not shown during service and that the chronic-disease presumption did not apply because his qualifying wartime service, though totaling 93 days across two voyages, was not continuous for 90 days. On appeal, Lorenzano argued that the statute did not require continuous service. The Court rejected that argument, holding that 38 U.S.C.A. § 1112(a), read together with 38 C.F.R. § 3.307(a)(1), requires active continuous service of at least 90 days for presumptive service connection. The Court also relied on the longstanding administrative interpretation requiring continuous service and affirmed the Board.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1992 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court affirmed denial of an earlier effective date for special monthly compensation for loss of a creative organ, holding that 38 C.F.R. § 3.114(a)(3) limited the award to one year before the claim date and that a departmental policy review did not create substantive rights.
Summary
The appellant served briefly in the Army and was granted service connection in 1951 for removal of the right testicle, with a 10 percent rating effective September 29, 1950. Special monthly compensation for loss of a creative organ, however, was not claimed until July 1989, long after the liberalizing statute authorizing that benefit became effective in 1952. VA awarded SMC effective July 25, 1988 under 38 C.F.R. § 3.114(a)(3), which permits only a one-year retroactive award when a claim is filed more than one year after the effective date of the law or VA issue.
The veteran argued that VA should have awarded the benefit as early as 1954 because the agency allegedly conducted a department-wide review of claims for World War II and Korean War veterans. The Court rejected that argument, explaining that the asserted review was a matter of internal policy, not an act of Congress or a published regulation, and therefore did not create enforceable substantive rights. The Court also rejected the veteran’s due process theory, found the Board’s reasons and bases adequate, and held that the benefit-of-the-doubt doctrine did not require reversal. The Court granted the Secretary’s motion for summary affirmance and affirmed the Board.
Court: Federal Circuit | Year: 2004 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Federal Circuit reaffirmed the three-element framework required to establish direct service connection: (1) evidence of a current disability, (2) evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury, and (3) evidence of a causal nexus between the current disability and the in-service event. The decision became one of the leading authorities governing service-connection analysis in VA claims.
Summary
In Shedden v. Principi, the Federal Circuit addressed the evidentiary framework required to establish direct service connection for a disability. The case became one of the foundational Federal Circuit precedents defining the three essential elements necessary to prove service connection: (1) evidence of a current disability, (2) evidence of in-service incurrence or aggravation of a disease or injury, and (3) evidence of a causal nexus connecting the current disability to service.
The decision reinforced and elevated the service-connection framework commonly associated with earlier Veterans Court decisions such as Caluza and Hickson. The Federal Circuit emphasized that VA adjudication must properly evaluate each required element and weigh all competent evidence relevant to service connection.
Shedden became one of the most frequently cited precedents in modern VA decisions involving direct service connection analysis and remains central to VA adjudication involving nexus evidence, in-service events, and continuity of symptomatology.
Court: Federal Circuit | Year: 2020 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Federal Circuit held that VA’s failure to apply the presumptions of soundness and service connection is not per se prejudicial and must be reviewed for harmless error under 38 U.S.C. § 7261(b)(2).
Summary
Richard Simmons sought revision of a 1974 RO decision on the ground of clear and unmistakable error, arguing that VA failed to apply the presumptions of soundness and service connection when denying service connection for a nervous condition. The Board and Veterans Court rejected that theory, concluding that although the presumptions were not properly analyzed, the error was harmless because the underlying denial rested on a failure to establish a causal nexus between the in-service condition and the current psychiatric disability.
The Federal Circuit affirmed. Relying on Shinseki v. Sanders and 38 U.S.C. § 7261(b)(2), the court held that a failure to apply the presumptions of soundness and service connection does not create automatic prejudice. The court explained that those presumptions concern the in-service incurrence element, not the nexus element, and a categorical prejudice rule would conflict with its prior decisions in Dye and Holton. The court therefore required a case-specific harmless-error inquiry and upheld the Veterans Court’s determination that Simmons was not prejudiced.
Court: CAVC | Year: 1993 | Read Full Case Breakdown →
Key Takeaway
The Court vacated the Board’s denial of service connection for multiple sclerosis because the Board made unsupported medical findings and failed to obtain potentially relevant private records. Talley confirms that VA must base medical conclusions on independent evidence and fully develop the record before deciding the claim.
Summary
The appellant sought service connection for multiple sclerosis based on symptoms he reported within the presumptive seven-year period after service. The Board denied the claim, finding the disease did not manifest until 1981 and concluding the earlier symptoms were not attributable to MS. The Court held that the Board impermissibly relied on its own medical judgment rather than independent medical evidence when it made those medical determinations. The Court also held that VA breached its duty to assist by failing to obtain private medical records from Dr. Siegal that the Board had specifically directed the RO to secure, even though those records were potentially relevant to the onset of the disease. Because the Board’s reasons or bases depended on unsupported medical conclusions and the record was not adequately developed, the Court vacated the decision and remanded for further adjudication.